Today in Texas History – January 11

From the Annals of the Civil War – In 1863, the last remaining soldiers of the Fourth Brigade of Walker’s Texas Division were captured at Arkansas Post. The Texas Division was reputed to be the only division in the Confederate Army made up entirely of troops from a single state.  Organized in October 1862, the Division was named after Maj. Gen. John George Walker, who took command on January 1, 1863.   It was nicknamed the “Greyhound Division,” or “Walker’s Greyhounds” as a testament to the troops ability to endure long marches during the conflict to reinforce troops at critical junctures.  Initially, the division was made up of four brigades. The Fourth Brigade, under the command of Col. James Deshler, was stationed at the Arkansas post until it was captured intact and ceased to be an active force for the remainder of the war.

Image of John G. Walker from


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s