From the Annals of the 6-10 Split – in 2010, the International Bowling Museum and Hall of Fame had its grand opening. Located in Arlington, the IBMHOF provides a “journey back to where bowling began.” It is described as an “interactive museum brimming with one-of-a-kind bowling artifacts, a unique bowling experience and a cutting-edge glimpse at the far-flung future of this global pastime.” Red thinks this is a must see for his next trip to Arlington.
From the Annals of the Museums – In 1980, The Old Jail Art Center opened to the public in Albany. The OJAC was originally located in Shackelford County’s former jail house. Additional buildings have been added for more exhibition and operation space as well as an education wing. The museum is home to an impressive collection of more than 2000 works and features important traveling exhibits. The original jail building is an outstanding example of 19th Century Classic Architecture and is on the National Register of Historic Places. This is a must see if you are travelling through the area.
From the Annals of the Museums– In 1933, the Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum opened in Canyon. The PPHM claims to be the first state museum in Texas. The museum first began to take shape when an educator named Hattie Anderson moved to Canyon to teach history at West Texas State Normal College. She saw an opportunity to preserve the quickly vanishing history of the Llano Estacado. By early 1921, Anderson and L.F. Sheffy (the head of the college’s history department) joined seven other faculty members and around thirty students to organize the Panhandle-Plains Historical Society. Together they began to collect and preserve the human and natural history of the region. They began soliciting support for their efforts, in the form of society memberships. By 1932, the group had enough funds to begin construction of Pioneer Hall still the main building for the museum. The Art Deco limestone structure features fine decorative stonework and, on its façade, carvings and bas reliefs depicting Western themes as well as Panhandle-Plains flora and fauna. More than 75 famous West Texas cattle brands surround the entrance.
Red personally recommends the PPHM as the best historical museum in the State. A must see if you visit Canyon and expect to spend at least a couple of hours touring the excellent exhibits.
From the Annals of Fine Art – In 1924, the Houston Museum of Fine Arts opened to the public. The MFA claims to be the oldest art museum in the state of Texas. That claim is disputed by the Fort Worth Museum of Modern Art. The museum site was dedicated in 1917 by the Houston Public School Art League (later the Houston Art League) with the intention of becoming a public art museum. The original neo-classical building was designed in phases by architect William Ward Watkin. The original Caroline Wiess Law building was opened in 1924 and the east and west wing were added in 1926. The museum has continually expanded over the years with the addition of the Robert Lee Blaffer Memorial Wing in 1953, Cullinan Hall in 1958 and the Brown Pavilion in 1974. The Brown Pavilion is the only Mies van der Rohe museum building in the U.S. IN 2000, the MFA expanded dramatically with the addition of the Audrey Jones Beck Building which added 158,000 feet of exhibition space for major traveling exhibits.